Blackberry & BB10 Permissions & Uninstall Instructions

In order to use RBC Mobile you must accept a list of permissions which will give you access to a range of services.

The following table lists the permissions, their descriptions and why access is required. Please note that the presentation of this list of permissions and which items appear will differ depending on your device model, platform and OS version.

Permission Why RBC Mobile needs access
SMS – Read your text messages (SMS or MMS), receive, send text messages (SMS). Used to allow you to send and receive Interac e-Transfers via text message
Your location – Approximate location (network-based), precise location (GPS and network-based) Used by Google Maps for the Find Us service
Phone calls – Directly call phone numbers, read phone status and identity Used to enable click-to-call under Contact Us
Storage – Modify or delete the contents of your USB storage, read the contents of your USB storage Used by Google Maps to cache map data
Camera – Access viewfinder Used by ATM & branch locator for Augmented Reality services
Network communication – Full network access, view Wi-Fi connections, view network connections Used for communication with RBC Mobile servers
Your social information – read call log, read your contacts Used to add Interac e-Transfer recipients using your device contact list
Your accounts – Find accounts on this device, read Google service configuration Used by Google Maps for the Find a Location service
Device access – Prevent phone from sleeping, phone vibration Vibration is used by RBC Alerts when push notifications are received
Compass – Allow RBC Mobile to access compass to better locate your position and orientation. Used by RBC Mobile to show nearby ATM and branch locations
Push notifications – Display notifications Used to receive RBC Alerts push notifications

To uninstall the RBC Mobile app from your Blackberry device:

  1. Highlight the RBC Mobile app icon on your screen
  2. Click on the Menu key and select “Delete”. You will be prompted to delete the app. Once you’ve confirmed, the app will be automatically from your device.